Menu Close

Wolves to debut in Hong Kong next month

Wolves are off to China in July but some of their younger players will be going to the Far East next month as the club makes its debut at this year’s Hong Kong HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens.

They will be joined by Fulham in entering the prestigious tournament for the first time as the event celebrates its 20th anniversary.

Holders Newcastle, six-time champions Aston Villa, two-time winners Leicester City, last year’s runners-up Rangers as West Ham and Brighton & Hove Albion will also lead the British challenge from May 17-19.

Wolves owners Fosun’s willingness to expand their brand into the Far East was reflected in them actually requesting to play in the tournament.

This time we decided we’d go for Fulham as they’re a good footballing team with an excellent academy. Also Wolves, they’ve done well in the Premier League and they actually contacted us – we didn’t contact them – so it was great to invite them,” said HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens Organising Committee Chairman Tony Bratsanos.

We love the idea of something fresh and having new teams come out. We can take our club for granted, but when I see the players walk through the entrance for the first time, they just can’t believe it.”

Wolves are likely to send an Under-23s team and Under-23 coach Rob Edwards said: “We are delighted to be attending the HKFC Citi Soccer Sevens for the first time in the club’s history and we are looking forward to competing at such a prestigious competition in its 20th anniversary year.

The opportunity to take our young players to Hong Kong to compete against a very good standard of opposition in such a unique format of the game is something we are eagerly anticipating and a fantastic way to bring the curtain down on a successful season at Wolves.”

Wolves’ first team play in the Premier League Asia Trophy in pre-season, from July 17-20.

Nuno Espirito Santo’s side, plus Manchester City, Newcastle and West Ham will play in a double-header at Nanjing Olympic Sports Centre on Wednesday July 17, followed by the third-fourth place play-off and the final, which will both be staged at Shanghai’s Hongkou Stadium on Saturday, July 20.