Menu Close

Gibbs-White makes winning start for England U19s

Wolves midfielder Morgan Gibbs-White got 90 minutes under his belt as England Under-19s kicked-off their U19 Euro elite qualifying round with a 4-1 win over Czech Republic at St. George’s Park.

Bukayo Saka (2) and goals for Marc Guehi and Danny Loader wrapped up a dominant display.

The victory gave Keith Downing’s side a strong start as they look to top a group also including Greece and Denmark to secure a place at this summer’s finals in Armenia.

The Young Lions actually fell behind against the run of play in the 10th minute. Jakub Selnar pounced on a half-clearance to drive a 20-yard effort well beyond Josef Bursik.

England’s response was immediate. Straight from the restart, Angel Gomes put through Saka down the left and the Arsenal forward made no mistake with 11 minutes gone.

Downing’s young Lions could have been ahead at the break but Ian Poveda’s penalty was easily saved by Matej Kover after he had been brought down by David Snajdr.

The hosts took the lead on 49 when Conor Gallagher’s effort was flicked in by his Chelsea team-mate Marc Guehi from close range.

Saka doubled his tally in the 56th minute – Gomes again the provider – with a similar move to his opener.

Reading striker Loader put the icing on the cake with five minutes remain by side-footing home substitute Tariq Lamptey’s cross from the left.

England U19s: 1 Josef Bursik (AFC Telford United, loan from Stoke City), 2 Max Aarons (Norwich City), 3 Steven Sessegnon (Fulham), 4 Conor Gallagher (Chelsea) (18 Rekeem Harper (West Bromwich Albion) 90), 5 Marc Guehi (Chelsea), 6 Jonathan Panzo (Monaco) ©, 7 Ian Poveda (Manchester City) (16 Tariq Lamptey (Chelsea) 66), 8 Morgan Gibbs-White (Wolves) (14 George McEachran (Chelsea) 90), 9 Danny Loader (Reading), 10 Angel Gomes (Manchester United) (17 Felix Nmecha (Manchester City) for Gomes 72), 11 Bukayo Saka (Arsenal) (20 Arvin Appiah (Nottingham Forest) 66).

Subs: 12 Stephen Walker (MK Dons, loan from Middlesbrough), 13 Billy Crellin (Fleetwood Town), 15 Nathan Ferguson (West Bromwich Albion), 19 Lewis Gibson (Everton).